Cash Advance Clear

Cash advance app · Tilt Cash Advance

Tilt (formerly Empower): what it costs and what the record shows

Tilt, the app previously branded Empower, offers cash advances of $10 to $500 that are repaid automatically on your next detected payday. Access normally requires an $8 monthly subscription (it can be waived by email), delivery to a Tilt card or by ACH is free, and instant delivery to an outside account costs $1 to $8, or 3% for advances of $300 or more.

Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.

261%APR

$5 to use $100 for 7 days with instant transfer, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.

What it is
Cash advance app
Who runs it
Tilt Finance, Inc. (NMLS #1718374)
Most you can get
$10-$500.1
Monthly membership
Tilt's Terms say access to Tilt Advance requires a subscription, currently $8 a month (members who signed up between January 1 and July 28, 2020 pay $6; before 2020, $0). First-time customers get a 14-day trial, then the fee recurs automatically; returning customers are charged $8 immediately. The Terms also say you can use Tilt Advance without paying the subscription by emailing [email protected] to ask for the fee to be waived.2
Instant transfer
Optional Instant Delivery Fee for delivery to your outside paycheck account, generally within 1 hour, debited on the repayment date: $1 (advances up to $10) rising to $8 ($250-$299.99), and 3% of the advance at $300 or more. Wisconsin and Maryland fees are capped at $5 for advances of $75 or less and $7.50 above $75.2
Standard transfer
Free: to a Tilt debit card generally within 1 minute, or by ACH to your paycheck account generally within 1 business day.
Tips
Tilt's Terms and cash advance pages do not mention tips.2

Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Tilt (formerly Empower) are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.

What you pay

ChargeWhat the company says
MembershipTilt's Terms say access to Tilt Advance requires a subscription, currently $8 a month (members who signed up between January 1 and July 28, 2020 pay $6; before 2020, $0). First-time customers get a 14-day trial, then the fee recurs automatically; returning customers are charged $8 immediately. The Terms also say you can use Tilt Advance without paying the subscription by emailing [email protected] to ask for the fee to be waived.2
Instant transferOptional Instant Delivery Fee for delivery to your outside paycheck account, generally within 1 hour, debited on the repayment date: $1 (advances up to $10) rising to $8 ($250-$299.99), and 3% of the advance at $300 or more. Wisconsin and Maryland fees are capped at $5 for advances of $75 or less and $7.50 above $75.2
$0–$10: $1$10.01–$49.99: $2$50–$74.99: $3$75–$99.99: $4$100–$149.99: $5$150–$199.99: $6$200–$249.99: $7$250–$299.99: $8
Standard transferFree: to a Tilt debit card generally within 1 minute, or by ACH to your paycheck account generally within 1 business day.
TipsTilt's Terms and cash advance pages do not mention tips.2
Late fees or interestTilt says there is no interest and no late fees, and advances are non-recourse (no collections and no credit reporting).1

What the marketing says, and what it leaves out

The real cost, worked out

Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.

ExampleYou payPer $100APR
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days$5$5261%
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days$5$5130%
$100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days$0$00%

How Tilt (formerly Empower) works

  1. Link your main checking account (bank linking is through Plaid).
  2. Start the subscription (14-day trial for first-time customers), or email [email protected] to ask for the subscription fee to be waived.
  3. Tilt reviews income, expenses and savings trends in the linked account and shows an offer of $10-$500 if you qualify.
  4. Choose delivery: free to a Tilt debit card or by ACH, or instant to your outside account for a fee.
  5. Tilt withdraws the repayment automatically on your next detected payday.

Steps summarized from Tilt Cash Advance page (footnotes)1.

How it is paid back

Tilt withdraws the advance plus any delivery fee from your linked checking account (by ACH or the linked debit card) on your forecasted payday. If there is not enough money, Tilt may withdraw small amounts until the balance is repaid, or the full amount once funds are available. You can ask to change the date by contacting support (by 3 PM PT one business day before). Tilt says it reimburses overdraft fees caused by its own repayment attempts, and you cannot get another advance until the prior one is repaid.2

Which banks it works with

Only what Tilt (formerly Empower)’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.

Bank or accountStatusWhat the app says
ChimeNot stated by the app—
Cash AppNot stated by the app—
VaroNot stated by the app—
CurrentNot stated by the app—
ChaseNot stated by the app—
Wells FargoNot stated by the app—
Bank of AmericaNot stated by the app—
Capital OneNot stated by the app—

State licenses and registrations

Official record

We found no enforcement actions or lawsuits against Tilt (formerly Empower) in the sources we searched.

Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search, under both "Empower" and "Tilt"); No government enforcement record found as of 2026-10-18; private lawsuits were not reviewed. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.

Cheaper ways to cover a gap

Details and official links for each option

What we could not confirm

Sources

  1. Tilt Cash Advance page (footnotes)
  2. Tilt Terms of Service (last updated August 19, 2026)
  3. Tilt Subscription Agreement (effective August 10, 2026)
  4. Tilt: Top Cash Advance Questions (last updated Feb 10, 2026)
  5. Tilt Licenses page
  6. Tilt Support: Where does Tilt operate?

All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? [email protected]