Employer pay-advance service · Payactiv Earned Wage Access
Payactiv: what it costs and what the record shows
Payactiv works through employers and lets workers access a portion of wages they have already earned, which is then deducted from the next paycheck. ACH transfers are free; real-time transfers cost $2.49 or $3.49 depending on the destination, and are free to a Payactiv Visa Card that receives a $200+ direct deposit each pay period.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
$3.49 to use $100 for 7 days with real-time transfer to a non-Payactiv debit card, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.
- What it is
- Employer pay-advance service
- Who runs it
- Payactiv, Inc. (Wisconsin DFI EWA license 2591928EWA; affiliated programs UKG Wallet and OnShift Wallet)
- Most you can get
- "A portion of wages you already earned"; no maximum dollar amount is published.1
- Monthly membership
- None
- Instant transfer
- Real-time transfer to a Payactiv Visa Card (incl. affiliate cards): no fee with one successful direct deposit of $200+ to the card per pay period, otherwise $2.49 load fee. Real-time transfer to a non-Payactiv debit or payroll card, Walmart Cash Pickup, or Venmo/PayPal (with preexisting Visa+ payname): $3.49. Disbursement options may vary by location.2
- Standard transfer
- ACH bank transfer: no fee, 1-3 business days. Uber rides, Amazon load and bill pay also listed as no fee.
- Tips
- No tip request is described on Payactiv's pricing page.2
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Payactiv are below, each with its source. Offered through your employer, which shares your hours and pay with the provider; the advance comes out of your paycheck.
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Instant transfer | Real-time transfer to a Payactiv Visa Card (incl. affiliate cards): no fee with one successful direct deposit of $200+ to the card per pay period, otherwise $2.49 load fee. Real-time transfer to a non-Payactiv debit or payroll card, Walmart Cash Pickup, or Venmo/PayPal (with preexisting Visa+ payname): $3.49. Disbursement options may vary by location.2 |
| Standard transfer | ACH bank transfer: no fee, 1-3 business days. Uber rides, Amazon load and bill pay also listed as no fee. |
| Tips | No tip request is described on Payactiv's pricing page.2 |
| Payactiv Visa Card fees | Pricing FAQ: fees may apply for some money transfers and withdrawals, foreign transactions, out-of-network ATMs (MoneyPass ATMs free) and cash loads at retail stores; see the Cardholder Agreement and Fee Schedule at payactiv.com/card411.2 |
| Enrollment | Pricing FAQ: no cost to get started and no enrollment or activation fees.2 |
| Late fees or interest | No interest or late fee is described on Payactiv's public pages. Amounts accessed are deducted from your next paycheck through payroll.3 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “Is Payactiv free for employees?" ("Many services are free")”: ACH transfers are free but take 1-3 business days; real-time transfers cost $2.49 (to a Payactiv card without a $200+ direct deposit that pay period) or $3.49 (to other debit/payroll cards, Walmart pickup, Venmo/PayPal).
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | $3.49 | $3.49 | 182% |
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | $3.49 | $3.49 | 91% |
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $0 | $0 | 0% |
How Payactiv works
- Work your scheduled shifts; Payactiv gets the data from your employer.
- Open the Payactiv app to see the earned wages available to you.
- Transfer what you need: free ACH (1-3 business days) or a real-time option (fee depends on destination).
- Use the app's other tools (bill pay, savings goals) if wanted.
- On payday, the amount accessed is deducted from your paycheck and shown on your pay stub.
Steps summarized from Payactiv for employees (How it works)3.
Who can get it
Your employer must offer Payactiv (or UKG Wallet / OnShift Wallet). Payactiv receives your worked-shift data from your employer. The free real-time option requires one successful direct deposit of $200+ to the Payactiv Visa Card per pay period.3
How it is paid back
"Money you access is automatically deducted from your next paycheck and shows as a line item on your pay stub."3
Which banks it works with
Only what Payactiv’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Cash App | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Varo | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Current | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Chase | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Wells Fargo | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Bank of America | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
| Capital One | Not stated by the app | “ACH bank transfer (1-3 business days): No Fee; Real-time transfers to Non-Payactiv debit or payroll cards: $3.49”2 |
State licenses and registrations
- Indiana: listed as “Payactiv, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Missouri: listed as “Payactiv, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- South Carolina: listed as “Payactiv, Inc.” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
- Utah: listed as “PAYACTIV, INC” on the official list (checked 2026-10-18).
Official record
- 2022-06-30 Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, order. At Payactiv's request, the CFPB issued an order terminating the December 2020 Sandbox Approval Order that had given Payactiv a temporary safe harbor under the Truth in Lending Act for certain EWA products. The CFPB said it had told Payactiv on June 3, 2022 that it was considering termination over public statements wrongly suggesting a CFPB endorsement, and that Payactiv asked for termination so it could change its fee model. Status: Sandbox approval order terminated effective immediately (June 30, 2022). Official document
- 2020-12-30 Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, order. The CFPB issued a compliance assistance sandbox approval order to PayActiv covering specific aspects of some of its earned wage access products. This order was later terminated (see June 30, 2022 record). Status: Terminated June 30, 2022. Official document
Searched: CFPB newsroom and enforcement (consumerfinance.gov); FTC: no Payactiv action found; California DFPI (only Payactiv comment letters found); Mass.gov data breach notices (a Payactiv notice 2025-1758 exists but its posted letter is a template without incident date or details; not recorded); Government index queries 'Payactiv', 'Payactiv sandbox approval order terminated', 2026-10-18. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Help center https://help.payactiv.com/ returned 503 (maintenance) on 2026-10-18; per-worker access limits, repayment-failure handling and bank compatibility details there are not verified. To be checked by a person in a normal browser.
- Payactiv's end-user EWA program terms were not found on payactiv.com; the Terms of Use cover only the website.
- Payactiv Visa Card fee schedule at payactiv.com/card411 was not reviewed.
- Mass.gov data breach notice https://www.mass.gov/doc/2025-1758-payactiv-inc/download was seen only in the government index (template letter, no incident details); live page not opened.
Sources
- Payactiv Earned Wage Access page
- Payactiv Pricing
- Payactiv for employees (How it works)
- Payactiv Terms of Use
- CFPB press release: CFPB Rescinds Special Regulatory Treatment for Payactiv (June 30, 2022)
- CFPB press release: Approval Order to PayActiv (Dec. 30, 2020)
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? [email protected]